Paolo Farinella Prize

The Paolo Farinella Prize is awarded annually at the European Planetary Science Congress (EPSC).

farinellaThe Paolo Farinella prize was established to honour the memory and the outstanding figure of Paolo Farinella (1953–2000), an extraordinary scientist and person, in recognition of significant contributions given in the fields of interest of Farinella, which span from planetary sciences to space geodesy, fundamental physics, science popularization, and security in space, weapons control and disarmament. The winner of the prize is selected each year on the basis of his/her overall research results in a chosen field, among candidates with international and interdisciplinary collaborations, not older than 47 years, the age of Farinella when he passed away on 25 March 2000. The prize was first proposed during the “International Workshop on Paolo Farinella the scientist and the man”, held in Pisa in 2010, supported by the University of Pisa and by IAPS-INAF (Rome).

The call for the 2018 Paolo Farinella Prize is now open. Nominations should be submitted by 4th May 2018.

Recipients of the Paolo Farinella Prize

20172016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 |


The 7th Paolo Farinella Prize in 2017 will be awarded to Simone Marchi for his contribution to the field of “Colliding worlds: A journey in time and space through the solar system”.

Citation and press release


The 6th Paolo Farinella Prize in 2016 was awarded to Kleomenis Tsiganis for his contribution to the field of “applications of celestial mechanics to the dynamics of planetary systems”.

Citation and press release



The 5th Paolo Farinella Prize in 2015 was awarded to Nicolas Biver for his contribution to the field of “dynamics and physics of comets”.

Citation and press release


2015 Paolo Farinella Prize winner, Nicolas Biver


The 4th Paolo Farinella Prize in 2014 was awarded to David Vokrouhlicky for his contribution to the field of “asteroid dynamics”.

Citation and press release



The 3rd Paolo Farinella Prize in 2013 was awarded to Patrick Michel for his contribution to the field of “collisional processes in the Solar System“




The 2nd Paolo Farinella Prize in 2012 was awarded to John Chambers for his contribution to the field of “formation and early evolution of the solar system”.


Press release

The inaugural Paolo Farinella Prize in 2011 was awarded to William F Bottke for his contribution to the field of “physics and dynamics of small solar system bodies”.

William Bottke receiving the Farinella Prize

The prize, which is now on its 6th edition, is supported by the University of Pisa, IAPS-INAF (Rome), IFAC/CNR (Firenze) and ASI.


ifac inaf_logo